DirectInfo 5.9.1
README

What's new in DirectInfo 5.9.1

- A bug causing in some cases the indexing to loop indefinitely was fixed

What's new in DirectInfo 5.9

- DirectInfo 5.9 is now available for Oracle 11g (incl. embedded
  HTTP server). The Express version does not support Oracle 11g.

- DirectInfo 5.9 is now available as a 64-bit version on Linux.

- Directly added new content and documents are now stored in the database 
  and not anymore in the file system.

- The editor for direct content upload can now be set according to the user 
  preferences. A simple text editor can be used instead of the previously
  default java editor.

- The default log-in domain can now be set in the application parameter menu.

- Numerous improvements and enhancements related to the integration to MS
  Active Directory

- Bug fixes:
      o Problems with umlauts in search items solved
      o passwords can start with a number  

What's new in DirectInfo 5.8

- The users can now enter their own content and have it indexed and
  available for searching to them and to other users they select

- The users can now upload files and have them indexed and available
  for searching to them and to other users they select

- The users can now save a set of preferences and use them later to
  see the result set in a specific way

- The permission crawling was improved significantly and speeded up

- The permission crawling processes status is now reported for each
  document group

- The permission crawling status on each initial path is now
  reported in document group details

- A bug was fixed in the indexing process that caused the indexing
  process to hang occasionally

- A bug was fixed in the database startup sequence that caused the
  some cleanup to be not done when database was stopped unexpectedly

- A bug was fixed in the program causing the document ID not always
  to be unique

- A bug was fixed in the program causing the permission crawling to
  be executed more than once in cases when there is more than one
  initial path in a document group


What's new in DirectInfo 5.7.3

- New icons allowing easy change of the language
  Now on the top right side of the window there are 2 icons
  for easy changing the language from German to English and
  vice versa.

- Renaming an initial path
  Now when the path to a share changes this can be specified
  within DirectInfo by "renaming" the initial path to the new
  share.


- Improved Logon dialog showing more information when the
  logon process fail
  Whenever the logon fails now the logon dialog shows the reason
  why the user cannot logon.


- New licensing mechanism
  Now when the trial period expires it is enough to receive a
  serial number from Semantec and enter it using the DirectInfo
  dialog.

- Improved New User Source dialog
  Now New User Source dialog has additional check-box specifying
  whether the user source is a Windows Domain

- Filters for users, user groups, etc.
  On all large lists now the user can filter what to be shown
  allowing fast filtering only of the needed items.

- Document IDs visible and available for searching
  The document IDs are now visible as metadata for the documents
  and can be searched for.

- Delete of multiple users and user groups is now possible
  
- Check if the initial path and the credentials work
  Now there is a new button in the intial path dialog allowing
  to check if the definition of the initial path is correct.

- Smooth page refresh using AJAX
  The document groups page and import users/user groups pages
  are now refreshed using AJAX dynamically.

- When the administrator changes the password of a user the
  old password is no longer needed

- Enhanced Security GUI
  * The screen User Groups now have a check-box for selecting/
    deselecting all items on the current page - similar to the
    check-box in Document Groups screen 
  * Security -> User Sources - the names of the sources of type
    LDAP are now links for editing the source. The link Edit from
    the 'Options' column is removed. 
  * Security -> User Sources - added checkboxes and added button
    'Delete Checked' (like in document droups). The link Delete
    from the 'Options' column is removed.
  * Security -> User Sources - added checkboxes and added button
    'Delete Checked' (like in document droups). The link Delete
    from the 'Options' column is removed. 
  * Fixed the size of the forms for import users/groups 
  * Security -> User Sources - Added automatic refresh. For LDAP
    user sources added links for import users/groups. Createed new
    user preference for automatic refresh of User Sources view 
  * Security -> Import Network Users - the filtering combo loads
    only computers 
  * Security -> Users: Show network users in the Users GUI. The
    only action allowed for them is now Delete 
  * Security -> Users: Added a Delete Checked button in Users GUI.
    Delete link in Options column is now removed
  * Security -> Users: Now the user names are links for editing
    the user. The Edit link in Options column is removed.
  * Security -> Users: Buttons Make Permission Statement and Import
    Domain Users moved to the right 
  * Security -> Users: When trying to make permission statement,
    if network users are checked DirectInfo shows message that
    they cannot have permission sets and uncheck them 
  * Security -> User Groups: Buttons Make Permission Statement and
    Import Domain Users are moved to the right 
  * Security -> User Groups: Added a Delete Checked button in User
    Groups GUI. Delete link in Options column is removed.
  * Security -> User Groups: The user group names are now links
    for editing the user group (for DI groups). The Edit link in
    Options column is removed.
  * Security -> User Sources: The number of imported users/groups
    is now a link, redirecting to the Users/User Groups interface,
    filtered by user source 
  * Security -> Import Network Users: Removed
  * Some buttons and links renamed
    e.g. 'Import Domain Users' -> 'Import Users'
  * Security -> User Sources - for sources of type Computer now a
    link Import Users is showed, showing the Import Network User
    view, and a Back link is shown to that view 
  * Security -> Users/User Groups - 'User Sources' renamed to
    'Show Users From' 
  * Import Network Users - 'Known Network Domains And Servers'
    renamed to 'Known Workstations' 
  * Security -> Users - when editing users of type ldap - only the
   'Access To Who Can See Report' checkbox is enabled  * New/Edit User - added a blue band on the top with a title and
    a Help button 
  * New/Edit User Group - added a blue band on the top with a title
    and a Help button 
  * New/Edit User Source - added a blue band on the top with a
    title and a Help button 
  * New/Edit schedule - added a blue band on the top with a title
    and a Help button 
  * Tools -> Document Types -> New/Edit Type - added a blue band on
    the top with a title and a Help button 
  * Options -> apllication parameters/default preferences/user
    preferences - added a blue band on the top with a title and a
    Help button 
  * Initial Paths - the path is now a link for editing, the link
    Edit is removed 
  * Masks - when clicking on back links to return to the Masks
    interface, or after deleting a mask, the previous page number
    is shown 
  * Users - the permission set name is a link to the mask collections 
  * Security -> Permission Sets - added checkboxes and a button
    'Delete Checked' (like in document droups) 
  * Security -> Users/User Groups - button Import Users/Groups moved
    between New and Delete buttons 
  * Import Users/Groups - when the user source is domain, a confirmation
    message is shown before importing 
  * Security -> Collections - added a select all checkbox and a
    delete checked button 
  * The description of the total set collection is changed

- Enhanced Tools GUI
  Tools -> Document Status Report 
  * At page load, while no document are shown in the right frame,
    a message is shown so the page does not look empty 
  * Document status section changes: 
    - size, date, index time are placed on new rows 
    - Who Can See It button is moved to the right bottom corner,
      replaced by a help button 
  * Button Delete Checked moved to the right 
  * Button Check Status renamed to Search 
  * Checkbox Only Not Indexed Files moved before button Search 
  * "from index" removed from messages "Remove not indexed/missing
    files from index" 
