Who is a User?
A user is an individual user. A user must also belong to a group.
Self Service Users
Normally a user will only be logged on in one location at any given time. A self service user is a user who can log in to the system multiple times from multiple locations.
It is recommended that a Self Service User has no permissions on the system except for the default 'Download' menu option. This option is available on the Enterprise License only.
What is a Group?
A group can contain any number of users. The system comes with two groups aleady created; the 'admin' group and the 'users' group. The admin group is a core group of users who have administrative privileges. The admin group and the sa user (system administrator) cannot be deleted. Members of the user group (or any other group that has been set up) do not have administrative privileges.
User settings
User settings allow you to specify the 'Drive Permissions' and 'Views' that a user can see when they log on. They also allow you to set 'Drive Permissionss' per Drive for the user. Permissions for any 'Plugin' functionality can also be set here.
Group settings
Group settings allow you to specify the 'Drive Permissions' and 'Views' that a group can see when a user, who is a member of that group, logs on.
If a Drive Permission or a View has not been specifed for a user but has been specified for the group to which the user belongs, then the user will automatically have at least the Drive Permissions and Views that have been specified for the group. The user will retain any additional Drive Permissions or Views that they have as a user, but which the group does not have.
![]()